Head Office

L 13, 50 Cavill Ave., Surfers Paradise QLD 4217 Australia

Call Now to Start your Immigration Today!

Phone: + 61 7 5635 4244


To apply for a visa under the skilled migration program SkillSelectyou must nominate an occupation that is eligible for immigration. You must provide evidence that you have a positive skills assessment in your nominated occupation issued by the relevant assessing authority.

The following is a list of Australian assessing authorities:

  • AACA – Architects Accreditation Council of Australia, Inc
  • AASW – Australian Association of Social Workers
  • ACS - Australian Computer Society
  • ACOPRA - Australian Council of Physiotherapy Regulating Authorities, Inc.
  • ADC - Australian Dental Council
  • AIM - Australian Institute of Management
  • AIMS - Australian Institute of Medical Scientists
  • AIQS - Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors
  • AIR - Australian Institute of Radiography
  • AIWCW - Australian Institute of Welfare and Community Workers
  • AMSA - Australian Maritime Safety Authority
  • ANCI - Australian Nursing Council Incorporated
  • APC - Australasian Podiatry Council
  • APEC - Australian Pharmacy Examining Council Inc
  • APS - Australian Psychological Society
  • ASCPA - Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants
  • CASA - Civil Aviation Safety Authority
  • DAA - Dieticians Association of Australia
  • ICAA - Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia
  • IEAust - Institution of Engineers, Australia
  • ISA - Institution of Surveyors, Australia
  • NAATI - National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters
  • NOOSR - National Office of Overseas Skills Recognition
  • OCANZ - Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand
  • SLAA - State Legal Admission Authority
  • SPAA - Speech Pathology Association of Australia
  • TRA - Trades Recognition Australia
  • VETASSESS - Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services


From 1 July 2014, if a skills assessment is mandatory as part of a visa application, that assessment will only be valid for a period of three years from the date of issue, unless a shorter validity period is specified on the assessment.

Each of the above assessing authorities has its own assessment procedures, timeframes and charges. The criteria by which an assessing authority undertakes different types of skills assessments is determined by the assessing authority in accordance with relevant professional standards which means that these requirements may entirely differ from the work experience requirement of the Department of Immigration.


How can we help you succeed with your skills assessment application?

Visamagnet has significant expertise in handling skills assessment applications, and can help you with:

  • Choosing the right nominated occupation for you
  • Discussing the detailed requirements of your nominated occupation
  • Advising on the strengths and weaknesses of your application
  • Providing a personalised list of documents required for your application
  • Advising on mandatory document requirements and how certain documents can be substituted
  • Drafting employment reference letters, personal statements and statutory declaration
  • Lodging and managing your skills assessment or reassessment application
  • Getting results with minimum stress and worry for you


If you have any questions regarding your skills assessment application or your skills assessment has been previously refused, book a consultation with our migration agent to discuss how to give yourself the best possible chance of successful immigration.

Clients using our Visa Master visa application services receive the full benefit of our Skills Assessment services.